Ilivetolearn's Blog

May 10, 2007

tormentas (storms)

Filed under: on the road,Spain — ilivetolearn @ 9:43 am

Bill and Margo had one day on the Camino when it was raining more than not. I had rain every day. But in Pacific-Northwest fashion, I minimized by renaming. Usually it started slowly and I would console myself with, “It’s only spitting.” Then more drops. “Hmm. Some dewfall from the trees.” Then so much that I had to stop for poncho arrangement, thinking “Well, at least it’s just drizzle.” This would progress though sprinkles, gentle rain, and steady rain to what the Times would call “Rain, heavy at times.” But still, in the spirit of the Successive Misery Index, I would think, “At least it’s not driving rain.”

After our return to Pozuelo, the downpours began in earnest. We had daily hailstorms around dusk: icy marbles piled up on the patio, the lights flickered, I watched TV footage of cars marooned in 3’ of water–and I thanked the pagan deities that I was not still on the pilgrimage.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

